While frolicking around in rec.food.cooking, Blair P. Houghton of -
said:
>>>If it's made from veggie sources, it ain't Ghee. ;-)
>>>Ghee is derived from butter!
>>>
>>I just looked at it, as I went shopping today, and it's made from
>>Hydrogenated vegetable oil,
> ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
> Trans fats
>
>It's the Margarine of Ghees!
>
Funny you should say that, because those were the first thoughts to
appear in my head, when I read the label, and in that order too.
>>vegetable oil, colour and flavouring; but
>>it does say "Pure Vegetable Ghee" on the bucket ;0) However, the
>>bucket contained 2kg, and I'm not going to buy 2kg of something, just
>>to find out if it's good or not. Especially not at that price!
>
>Maybe it's for true vegans who won't deal on milk products.
>
Maybe that, and/or for lactose intolerant people, such as me and/or
for those people whose religion forbids them to cook meat and dairy
products in the same dish (isn't that a Kosher thing?). However, I'm
not tempted to buy it, though I might've been, out of curiosity, if
you could get it in small jars.
> --Blair
> "Awfully funny if they make margarine
> first and then turn it into ghee..."
Maybe they do. I don't know.
--
Nikitta a.a. #1759 Apatriot(No, not apricot)#18
ICQ# 251532856
Unreferenced footnotes:
http://www.nut.house.cx/cgi-bin/nemwiki.pl?ISFN
"No. *Real* men eat whatever they like." Chwith (AFV)